BC NDP / BC Green place no-confidence vote against BC Liberals, last Thursday.

I am a British Columbia citizen and I live in Fernwood, a community inside Victoria City. My opinion is coming from my own view point. I live in a country where freedom to express, is allowed and not punished. I voted for BC NDP in May 2017.

Last week, I visited the Legislative Buildings at 1230 pm. My aim was to watch the predicted fall of the BC Liberals to the BC NDP / BC Green Party. While I was in the building for 1 hour – until they closed the doors to the room in which the unfolding of events would take place – I felt a strong emotion in the halls of the Legislative Buildings. There was a feeling that something was wrong. After I left the Legislative Buildings I drove to the University of Victoria to visit their library to read my own book that I brought with me from home. I thought about the Legislative Buildings. Then at around 5 pm I watched CBC saying that Christy Clark, Leader of the BC Liberals had just lost to a no-confidence vote. She was now on her way to the Government House in the Rockland area in Victoria City. I watched Christy Clark, BC Liberal, climb the hill to the Government House where she was scheduled to meet with the Lieutenant Governor (LG). The LG was then going to make a decision of either a re-election for BC citizens or appoint Mr. John Horgan, the leader of the BC NDP. She ended up choosing the latter of the two. Mr. John Horgan became the new BC Provincial Premier.

There are two details in this unfolding of BC political events which bother me, as a BC Citizen, and a city dweller in Victoria who watched these events closely in order to understand:

[1] Could it have been possible that Christy Clark was discriminated against in a form of a psychological biased? Namely, in a recent Times Colonist newspaper article about the delivered Throne Speech, Christy Clark BC Liberal reported saying that she had listened to the BC people and is prepared to change for the benefit of the people but the BC NDP / BC Greens did not believe her

[2] Would it have not been a better BC political maneuver if a new election was held instead of having a Lieutenant Governor – a very high political authority in British Columbia decide? Would it not have been more democratic to have the BC voters decide on whom they wanted in power?

Perhaps a more fair way of breaking the virtual political BC Elections May 9th tie betwen the parties, would have been what they do in soccer, namely with some form of [1] sudden death or otherwise a [2] a lottery system. That would have eliminated the perception of Christy Clark being tormented into the form of a character assassination (in my humble opinion) during the 4 days of BC Legislative debate which took place between the Throne Speech and the No-confidence vote. And it would have eliminated the authority official, the Lieutenant Governor from being forced to make an executive decision on something that was really a matter of choice for the citizens of British Columbia and the citizens of British Columbia alone.

Protect BC democracy. Bring matters to the people.

Picture of our earth

aa5a31ceeaa04ec91e3a2de2d5f0a6b8--weather-satellite-blue-marbles

Leave a Reply

